What other ECs should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SettyN

Reaction score
I'm currently a first year student in a 7 year BS-MD program but I plan on applying out to cheaper/subsidized medical schools with lower costs like Weill Cornel Medical School and Kaiser Permanente school of medicine. Currently, I have completed all my required courses and only have major electives left, and given that I currently have a 4.0 GPA and plan on taking easy electives the rest of my time, I plan on graduating with a high GPA (4.0 if I don't mess up on any electives).

Aside from my GPA and MCAT, which I am currently studying for, I am most concerned about extracurriculars. I already have a research position with a professor, and I should have a fairly high amount of research hours by the time I graduate. I am also already in an arrangement that guarantees I get around 60 hours of shadowing by the beginning of my sophomore year. What other extracurriculars can I do to maximize my chances of getting into one of these competitive low cost/subsidized med schools?

Members don't see this ad.

With your BS/MD program, you should have a dedicated advisor or mentor who should spell out your expectations for clinical experience and community service. Keep your nose clean and at least fulfill those activities. You will still need letters to support you so don't burn your bridges too early or quickly.

Also there is always needing sustained leadership experience. What clubs are you involved with?

Reactions: 1 user
With your BS/MD program, you should have a dedicated advisor or mentor who should spell out your expectations for clinical experience and community service. Keep your nose clean and at least fulfill those activities. You will still need letters to support you so don't burn your bridges too early or quickly.

Also there is always needing sustained leadership experience. What clubs are you involved with?