Chances of an MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

J-REXX

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am trying to apply for an MD/PhD program at either UF or UAB and I was wondering if anyone knew the statistics on those schools. I am a double major in Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences with a double minor in Mathematics and Honors; I take the MCAT for the first time in August, and I graduate in Spring 2024. I am also a Chemistry tutor for Gen and Orgo Chem. My GPA from my first institution was a 3.86 and my current GPA, one semester into this new university, is a 3.58 - that averages out to like a 3.72. Currently I do research with a professor and I should be publishing soon if all goes well, however, I have yet to actually shadow a Physician; I was going to hopefully do that this summer. The Head of the Department told me that shadowing a Physician was a bad idea and that I should focus solely on my research.

I am also Hispanic/Native American - I have heard that helps sometimes but I don't really know.

What are my chances? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Prereq grades:
Gen Chem 1 and lab - A
Gen Chem 2 and lab- B
Org 1 and lab - B
Orgo 2 and lab - B
Orgo 3 and lab - A
Physics 1 and lab - A
Physics 2 and lab - A
Bio 1 and lab - A
Bio 2 and lab - A
MicroBio - B+
MicroBio Lab - A
BioChem - In progress (hopefully and A)

Members don't see this ad.

Your grades look good, and hopefully do well on your MCAT. I would definitely focus on knowing that you like the research life while also understanding why you want to be an MD/PhD. Do you have an understanding of translational medicine? Have you talked to MD/PhD students or those who are in residency/postdoctoral training? Have you presented your work at SACNAS yet?