College EMS and Respect

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frankcfromny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an EMT-B at my college campus. We are considered a non-transport BLS agency servicing only the college campus and are dispatched along with the fire department (transport) for all emergency medical calls on campus. (ALS is dispatched when necessary)

Anyways, our agency is comprised of students ages 18-22, all of which hold their EMT-B cert besides for trainees.

Does anyone else in a similar position have trouble getting respect from other agencies? I can't tell you how much the FD, campus PD and village PD give us a hard time over nothing. I swear it is because they feel threatened by college-aged kids.

For example, I got a call from the village police chief saying that he's received several complaints of our jeep speeding on the way to calls. He proceeded to tell me that he spent the last week gunning us, and on two instances we were going 15 over the limit. State protocol says we can go 10 over. He told me that he's instructed his officers to embarrass and pull us over enroute to a call the next time it happens. No, we are not following protocol but are you serious??? 5 over in a couple instances? I don't think he would be having this conversation with ALS or other providers.

This is the most recent problem...of course we always get the disgruntled police officers that won't leave an intox patient alone despite us asking or the paramedic that told one of our patients that "first responders don't know anything".

Can anyone relate? Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: