Community College to get basics out of the way?

LHS Student

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I might want to be a doctor but I am only a Sophomore in High school so I'm just looking at my options. I take AP classes and am a High B, or A average student. My family has no money to pay for my college, and my brother went to college a couple years ago and applied for FASFA and grants and got little to no money. Two years in to college he couldn't afford to pay for his classes and is temp. out of school. I'm trying to get a big Scholarship to go to college but the chances of that are slim to be realistic. So my real question is with my situation, I have talked to my brother and other adults and they say to go to community college for the first two years and work to save up money and just get my basics out of the way such as math,eng,his, etc and then transfer to a major university. I dont have much of a choice inless I get a Scholarship to go to a major university all 4 years(which i will still try). I don't want to go to a major university then have to put it on pause because of money. Will this affect me getting into med school and such? And is there any advice to give me with my situation.

Thanks for your input!
Andrew :)

Members don't see this ad.

There is nothing wrong with going to a community college just try and take only the basics and as few of the med school pre reqs there. If it financially makes the most sense then do it.

Remember there are always loans you can take out if you need to. I know going into debt is not the nicest thought but if you go to med school you are going to have to take out big loans anyway. But yeah don't let something as stupid as money stop you from going to college/medical school.