Current standard of care lumbar TFESI- safe triangle vs kambins or other .

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Laryngospasm

Trench Dog
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any one have new thoughts on this? With vessel damage in addition to particulate embolization being implicated has anyone changed their practice? I was taught the (un)safe triangle approach but that has been some time ago. What are the fellowships teaching currently?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I graduated two years ago and was taught safe triangle. Also used a fair amount of particulate steroid. I still use safe triangle but dex only.

Any one have new thoughts on this? With vessel damage in addition to particulate embolization being implicated has anyone changed their practice? I was taught the (un)safe triangle approach but that has been some time ago. What are the fellowships teaching currently?

A partner that I work with does an Interlaminar approach and directs the tuohy toward the pedicle. Once he gets loss threads a catheter and can occasionally get contrast spread along the nerve root or transforaminal spread. Uses depomedrol.

I do the standard TFESI safe triangle approach with dexamethasone.

Members don't see this ad :)
A partner that I work with does an Interlaminar approach and directs the tuohy toward the pedicle. Once he gets loss threads a catheter and can occasionally get contrast spread along the nerve root or transforaminal spread. Uses depomedrol.

I do the standard TFESI safe triangle approach with dexamethasone.
I don’t take the time to do a catheter for lumbar but I do a far lateral approach with my lumbar ILESI and get good anterior spread 90% of the time. Generally do this first and only do TFESI with dex in safe triangle if the ILESI doesn’t cut it.
(except with acute new radic , for which I do start with TFESI and dex)

Reactions: 1 users