Dartmouth vs. Pittsburgh

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SUZY79

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, All. I'm new to this web site, but need your help! I got off of both dartmouth and pittsburgh's waitlist this past week and can't decide which to choose! I would love any opinons, advice, comments...thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

This should be an easy choice. They are both great schools but Pitt is a real research powerhouse. Does that matter to you? Do you prefer urban or rural? Would you rather live in Pittsburgh or Hanover NH? Do you like a class size of 60-80 or would you prever 150 plus?

Pitt - it will open a lot more doors in the future and give you a hand in your residency application. Unless of course you want to be in Dartmouth's location. even if you arent' interested in research, attending a med school with research focus won't affect your education. It will open more doors.

Members don't see this ad :)
Dartmouth has a medical school?

Who knew?

Pitt all the way. Much better place to live than Hanover.

If you want to pursue research opportunities in med school, go to pitt. Pitt is much more of a research power than dartmouth. If not, it really doesn't matter all that much. Big differences between the locales though, so it should all come down to whether you like pittsburgh or hanover.

I'd probably go to dartmouth because I wouldn't want to live in pittsburgh and I wouldn't take advantage of the extra research opportunities at pitt anyway.

SunnyS81 said:

Who knew?

Pitt all the way. Much better place to live than Hanover.

I dunno, some people would consider a quaint New England college town the ideal place to live. I thought Pitt was great but there are plenty of people that don't want to live in Pittsburgh. Another unique thing about Dartmouth is the small class size. It gives you lots of individual attention but you cannot be anonymous either.