Degree before Pharmacy School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CPhTnerd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if I could get some feedback on what I should do. I graduated August of 2006 with a BS in Economics. After working in Risk Analysis for a little bit, I decided that my real love was for pharmacy. (I had been a tech for 6 years prior and during my first undergrad.) Now I am back in school trying to get my pre-reqs in order, and was wondering if it would be wise to get a BS in Chem before applying for pharmacy school? I feel a bit old (26) and pressed to finish quickly. (Not to mention a little worried, because my GPA is kinda low - 3.3)

What would you say the pros and cons are of getting that second degree vs transferring out? Thanks for your advice!

Members don't see this ad.

I was just wondering if I could get some feedback on what I should do. I graduated August of 2006 with a BS in Economics. After working in Risk Analysis for a little bit, I decided that my real love was for pharmacy. (I had been a tech for 6 years prior and during my first undergrad.) Now I am back in school trying to get my pre-reqs in order, and was wondering if it would be wise to get a BS in Chem before applying for pharmacy school? I feel a bit old (26) and pressed to finish quickly. (Not to mention a little worried, because my GPA is kinda low - 3.3)

What would you say the pros and cons are of getting that second degree vs transferring out? Thanks for your advice!

Get the pre reqs to the schools that interest you and apply. No need for another degree. When you apply play up the 6 yrs of experience and get good letters. Most places only look at science GPA so whatever science classes you have left should be aced. With a good PCAT score you'll be very competitive without another degree.