dental school paid by coast guard

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ovega03

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
im a predent student trying to research the best way to pay for dent school. i was told by a dentist that the coast guard offers a great program. ive been trying to research it online but there isnt anything detailed at all. i was hoping to find someone here to help me out. im curious to see what exactly you do after you graduate from dent school, whether you go through the coast guard training and practice dentistry or do other random stuff that they require. id appreciate any links and responses.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

The Coast Guard is itself a branch of the US Armed Forces---although it is not as glorified as the 4 main branches it is operated in much the same way. I imagine you would be required to fulfill the same requirements that the other branches require---for every year paid you are to repay with one year of service. When I researched scholarships last year, I never found anything regarding the Coast Guard. Best of Luck!

ovega03 said:
im a predent student trying to research the best way to pay for dent school. i was told by a dentist that the coast guard offers a great program. ive been trying to research it online but there isnt anything detailed at all. i was hoping to find someone here to help me out. im curious to see what exactly you do after you graduate from dent school, whether you go through the coast guard training and practice dentistry or do other random stuff that they require. id appreciate any links and responses.

thanks

Here's some info:

If you are a physician, dentist, nurse practitioner, physician's assistant or pharmacist and would like more information about active duty positions for health care professionals, please contact:

Captain Mike Adess
Commandant (G-WKH-3)
USCG Headquarters, Room 5314