Do I still have a viable chance of getting into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sodapressing467

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a second semester sophomore, and only recently have been taken with the idea of pursuing psychiatry (I am a psychology major). I haven't taken any heavy scientific courses just yet (taking Biology next semester) and am just kind of apprehensive about if I can handle it...I heard Organic Chemistry is a mother! I know med schools require a certain amount of courses from each of the sciences. I want to make sure I have a thorough understanding of the material and plenty of study time for the MCAT, but with the way things are looking now, I would be taking the MCAT probably my senior year without having organic chemistry under my belt...my gpa is a 4.0 right now though. Do you guys think I can do it? Thank you so much to whoever answers :)

Members don't see this ad.

So I am a second semester sophomore, and only recently have been taken with the idea of pursuing psychiatry (I am a psychology major). I haven't taken any heavy scientific courses just yet (taking Biology next semester) and am just kind of apprehensive about if I can handle it...I heard Organic Chemistry is a mother! I know med schools require a certain amount of courses from each of the sciences. I want to make sure I have a thorough understanding of the material and plenty of study time for the MCAT, but with the way things are looking now, I would be taking the MCAT probably my senior year without having organic chemistry under my belt...my gpa is a 4.0 right now though. Do you guys think I can do it? Thank you so much to whoever answers :)

No.

Your GPA's a 4.0 and you're not sure whether you have a chance?

:troll:

If you're serious, just take it and do well. As long as it's above 3.7, you're good.

Members don't see this ad :)