Do I transmit Step II or not?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

looktme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got back my step II today and unfortunately went down a lot. 237. Which is supposedly below average. I have a 252 on step 1. I'm a DO student in desperate need of more ACGME interviews, but will this be the nail in my coffin. I'm assuming it is a huge red flag, so do I re-transmit to update programs of my step II scores or will it kill my chances at programs I already have an interview with?

Members don't see this ad.

First, 237 isn't below average. It's fine. The average is like 215. 252 is awesome. 237 is very good. However, 237 is quite a bit less than 252. The trend might be concerning to some. I transmitted mine, not only because the military match required it but because my II was higher than my I. But if I were you....I don't think I would. It certainly doesn't strengthen your application. It might not hurt it, but I don't see where it adds anything. If someone asks, tell them you got a 237 but didn't submit because you thought it wouldn't strengthen your application.

I wouldn't submit it. You killed step 1. Your step 2 is still pretty strong, but it doesn't add to your app. Submit only if asked. If someone asks, send it immediately.

Don't be ashamed of that score. You still killed step 2, but not quite as much as step 1.

Good luck.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)