DO DO only, low MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BJJ

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys thanks for taking a look and chancing me.

AACOMAS GPA: cGPA: 3.5 sGPA: 3.47 MCAT: P:7 V:8 B: 9 (24)

I am rescheduled to take my MCAT in January 2015. I did not study for my MCAT as I decided to take it late and just go ahead apply this cycle and see what happens. During undergraduate I was a gen chem tutor and majored in biology. I didn't know a single thing about physics which I am planning on correcting for my retake. I also did a handful of verbal practice sections beforehand as well.

All I'm looking for is to get some IIs. I have pretty decent interviewing skills, so I just want to land an II and I think I can work with something from there.

ECs are pretty good. I've volunteered at a local hospital for 115 hours. Volunteer tutor. I held officer positions with PreSOMA and another pre med group. I've been an ED scribe for over 2.5 years total (>2000 hours). I was also able to land 2 DO LORs.

The one thing though is I only have 1 science faculty LOR. I even have a non science LOR, but my planned 2nd science LOR fell through. I will be able to get one for next cycle, but for this cycle I will have to make due with 1 sci LOR, 2 DO lor, and 1 non sci LOR. As a result the schools I'm applying to is limited and not very in range of my MCAT.

My schools:

ATSU- SOMA (secondary sent)
ATSU- KCOM (secondary sent)
MWU- AZCOM (secondary received)
MWU- CCOM (secondary received)
VCOM (all 3 campuses)
KCUMB (doing secondary now)
MSUCOM (decided not to do a secondary)
WVSOM (secondary sent)
WU COMP- (doing secondary now)

I'm really hoping to get into VCOM or WVSOM. I'm of asian descent and a virginia resident.

Members don't see this ad.

That MCAT is a tough sell, especially if you're Asian. Good luck on the retake. Study this time.

Reactions: 1 user