Early career guidance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ExternalUse

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I graduated last year and currently work in the industry doing software development. I've interned as a developer while in school and made a lot of friends. Upon graduation, they hired me full-time, where I worked as a software developer for about a year. Recently received a promotion geared towards management. The pay is great, everyone is excited for the "beginning" of my new life.

Typical work day still involves coding, although my personality pushes towards management. My managers have always been astonished by my work, mainly because I worked my butt to show off. I thought this would get me higher recognition, but soon realized there will always be more work to do regardless of how fast I finished a project. Rarely do I get to interact with people outside of my scope, making my job dull. Not to mention being behind a computer coding 5+ hours a day is rather boring.

Since I am at the start of my career, the pay checks coming in each month are freaking awesome. I've never had this kind of money at my disposal while growing up / in college. From speaking with elders, it seems as though this feeling will pass. There will come a time where this spree ends. Money is great now, but come 10 years when money is not an issue, how will things be?

Ever since sophmore year of college I've wanted to switch tracks to medical, but decided not to. Finished my engineering degree, for safety. At this point, my friends suggest that I get an MBA and try to move into business management. They say the pay is somewhat better but this does have risks associated with them. Due to the fact I have a purely technical background with little management skills, it'll be hard to land a good job.