EIS 2021

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Epirn

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone applying for EIS 2021?

Members don't see this ad.

awesome! Have you applied before? I’m not sure timing wise I will this year, but am gathering information to hopefully apply next year. Just very interested in learning all I can about it!

Members don't see this ad :)
What are your backgrounds?

I'm in the dissertation writing stage of my PhD in public health focusing on infectious disease genomics. How about you guys? This is my first time applying and I'm very excited/nervous!

I did! I'm hopeful, but I don't have an MPH, so it's less likely my application will go anywhere. I'm an MD IM resident.

All materials in and application submitted.

Application updated to under review. Starting to feel a little more real. Anyone else updated?

Yup mine was switched to under review too. Agreed, it definitely feels a bit more real now. Curious to see how COVID-19 impacts the number of applicants this year and number accepted

I was trying to find statistical information on the typical size of an average applicant pool, the number interviewees and the number selected. The best I could find is that it sounds like (during an average year) there are roughly 500 applicants. From those applicants, about a third get interviews. From the interviewees, about a third get selected. I'm not sure how accurate this is.

So for mathematical sake, lets say there are 600 applicants x 1/3 = 200 interviews
200 interviewees x 1/3 = 67 selectees.

I think the last couple classes had >70 selectees, so that is good news for us :)

Reactions: 1 user