"Eleventh Hour" interest in pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pickle_Rick

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year DO student who has recently developed an interest in the field of pathology. Many medical students, especially DOs like myself, have very little exposure to the field of pathology in any real capacity. The classes that interested me the most involved learning the principles and mechanisms of tissue and human body's reactions to injury and the various expressions of these reactions. Yet, my lack of exposure to the field of pathology, dearth of info/resources, and a strong emphasis of my college to produce primary care clinicians---> I am currently applying to IM residencies (AOA only).

I am interested in securing a residency position in pathology. I have researched a few options on this:

Option (A): Start the IM intern year and apply for pathology spot next cycle
- Provides continued training (i.e. avoids gaps)
- Provides salary and benefits
- Sets me back a year since pathology has no intern requirements
Option (B): Register for NRMP and plan to scramble into an unfilled pathology spot
- I've researched that as many as 10-15%(more?) spots go unfilled each cycle
- Risk considering that I may not get one of the unfilled pathology spots
Option (C): Do a research/fellowship year and reapply next cycle
- I've found several post-sophmore fellowships in pathology programs
- Consider contacting these programs to see if the would allow a medical school graduate into their PSF program
- Sets me back a year, but will receive stipend and needed pathology exposure

Any advice or feedback is appreciated!

Thanks,

Pickle Rick

Members don't see this ad.

Of the three, I prefer Option A.

Option B is very high risk, particularly for a DO. The presumption will be that you did not match and are just saying you want pathology like so many unsuccessful applicants.