explaining a "gap" after med shcool

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

playingfrombehind

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
would you guys put a separate heading prior to your personal statement "explanation of gap year"?

ERAS also asks this question "Was your medical education/training extended or interrupted?"
I graduated on time without gaps during medical school. But I did not apply to match during 4th year instead will apply this year. Can I still indicate "no" because I did not have gaps during medical school

Members don't see this ad.

I would say not, since you have a year between medical school and residency so that would be consider a gap year.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I agree, your medical training was interrupted for a gap year. I wouldn't put a separate heading in your PS just be sure to mention what you did during that year.

would you guys put a separate heading prior to your personal statement "explanation of gap year"?

ERAS also asks this question "Was your medical education/training extended or interrupted?"
I graduated on time without gaps during medical school. But I did not apply to match during 4th year instead will apply this year. Can I still indicate "no" because I did not have gaps during medical school
Hello,