Favorite Financial Books

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sethco

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I admit over the past couple of years, I have become a little of a personal finance nerd. I guess I have to thank WCI and some of the older SDN posters because before then I was a clueless resident with no idea about investing, debt, assets, etc. They were all instrumental in my education, because I certainly wasn't taught anything about finances during medical school or residency (aside from a cursory 1 hour lecture at the end of residency). I was thinking of some of my favorite books that I have read over the past decade. Hopefully they can also help someone out there that is as clueless as I was back then. If anyone else has any recommendations that may help, please chime in as I am always now looking for a good book to read. Here are my 8 favorite (in no particular order)

1) Millionaire Next Door (Thomas Stanley): Probably the first personal finance behavior book I ever read and it is the book I recommend to start at. Not enough good things to say about it and has certainly stood the test of time.
2) The White Coat Investor (James Dahle): A Doctor's Guide to Personal Finance and Investing. Very quick read with lots of high yield info. Best read by premeds and medical students and the sooner the better
3) Random Walk Down Wall Street (Burton Malkiel): Loved the history portion of the book
4) The Automatic Millionaire (David Bach): Another behavior finance book that was very well written
5) Simple Path to Wealth (JL Collins): This might be another great book for one to begin their financial journey
6) The Overtaxed Investor (Phil Demuth): More advanced, but lots of helpful info in the book. Very funny and able to keep my attention despite the dry content
7) Retire Secure (James Lange): Another more advanced book, buts lots of helpful info regarding estate planning