First time shadowing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

151Things

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an undergraduate about to shadow an anesthesiologist for the first time. Any recommendations or things to be aware of? I just don't want to do something embarrassing or awkward.

Members don't see this ad.

Ask at the beginning when an appropriate time to ask questions is. Make sure you know what to wear and if there is any paperwork to complete before shadowing. Read up on the very basics so you can get more out of what is going on.

Reactions: 1 user
Just make sure you're not getting in the way (if you're unsure of where to be, just ask). Don't enter or touch anything in the sterile area where the surgery people are doing their surgery thing. Other than that ... just show up on time and show some interest.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ask if you can stay the whole time that the physician you are shadowing is at work. Gives you a really good perspective on what a real day in medicine is. If the doc is there from 6am-6pm but you're only there from 10-4 and just see the cool procedures, that's not a full representation of being a doctor.

Reactions: 1 user
Ask if you can stay the whole time that the physician you are shadowing is at work. Gives you a really good perspective on what a real day in medicine is. If the doc is there from 6am-6pm but you're only there from 10-4 and just see the cool procedures, that's not a full representation of being a doctor.
Great point.

Can't really comment on shadowing an anesthesiologist, but here are some general tips along with a couple of things I wish I had thought about before shadowing: