FMG and PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prop

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I know I may be a bit pretentious even asking a question, knowing that ENT is an extremely competitive field to get into, especially being a FMG.
However, having always believed in pursuing my dreams, here goes:

I'm currently a 4th year med student (in a 6 year university in Europe), and I haven't done step 1 yet (will do this summer).
I started thinking about doing a residency in ENT during my first year in med school, and the interest have remained the same ever since.
Assuming I get good scores on step 1 and 2 (above 235-240), do You think it would help doing a PhD before applying for residency (I'm sincerely interested in research)? And even more importantly, is it absolutely crucial to do the PhD in areas regarding ENT, or would it be considered equal if it was done in cardiology (I have a real interest in this as well)?

Thanks for every input.

Members don't see this ad.

Assuming I get good scores on step 1 and 2 (above 235-240), do You think it would help doing a PhD before applying for residency (I'm sincerely interested in research)? And even more importantly, is it absolutely crucial to do the PhD in areas regarding ENT, or would it be considered equal if it was done in cardiology (I have a real interest in this as well)?

Thanks for every input.

Well, that's a multi-part question so let's make the following assumption:

You pound Step I for 240 or some ridiculous score, because without that your chances will be much harder as a FMG as you already know.

People have asked if it's harder or easier to get into ENT with a MD/PhD and I honestly don't know a good answer to that. As far as numbers go, I'm not aware of a higher percent of those docs who match compared to regular ole MD's.