This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Niamhers

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So as you can see in the title I'm looking to find out about transitioning from Medicine to Veterinary. I've found a post about doing the reverse but no info on Med -> Vet.

At the minute i'm in my third year of medical school (3rd of 5) and whilst I don't hate it, in fact I quite like many aspects, I know my heart lies in Vet Med and I think I've always known that.

Unlike most of my classmates as a child I didn't dream of being a Doctor, I had ALWAYS wanted to be a vet... Right up until the year I started med school.

My main reasons for changing my aims from vet to med were (a) a local vet who I very much respect completely discouraged me from pursuing vet, he said if he had his time back that he'd do med for many reasons (pay, job satisfaction, opportunities and pressure being some reasons cited), (b) a girl I knew who had just graduated (1-2 years previously) who, whilst not completely discouraging about the career, still was very hesitant to say she'd do it again..., (c) my med school is near to my family home which may have social negatives has certainly gotten rid of the financial burden that is rent whereas the vet school is 3 hours away (d) at 18 (the age I was deciding between the two) I couldn't wrap my head around the idea of performing euthanasia in cases where I didn't feel it was 100% the best option which is not practical as a vet/ student and the lack of resources and advances in tech and meds in vet med compared to human med is outrageous and something that I felt I could find frustrating and (e) I think a large part of me was unwilling to leave my dog, my best friend.