Girlfriend in Podiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BloodySurgeon

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My girlfriend has always been interested in applying to medical school but after trying so hard to get in and losing two years she talked to and shadowed a few podiatrist and decided to apply to Podiatry school. She has been given a few interviews and acceptances and I want to be supportive, but to be honest I don't know much about podiatry. I am an MD student and I understand that podiatrist can perform surgery and treat foot related injuries, but I am just confused what they actually do. What type of patients do podiatrist get? are they hospital based or private practice? where can i find more information about podiatry?

and why would FM refer a pt with complicated foot ulceration to a podiatrist over Gen Surg or Ortho?

Members don't see this ad.

My girlfriend has always been interested in applying to medical school but after trying so hard to get in and losing two years she talked to and shadowed a few podiatrist and decided to apply to Podiatry school. She has been given a few interviews and acceptances and I want to be supportive, but to be honest I don't know much about podiatry. I am an MD student and I understand that podiatrist can perform surgery and treat foot related injuries, but I am just confused what they actually do. What type of patients do podiatrist get? are they hospital based or private practice? where can i find more information about podiatry?

and why would FM refer a pt with complicated foot ulceration to a podiatrist over Gen Surg or Ortho?

As a FM doctor, I routinely refer patients with complicated foot ulcers/soft tissue injuries to podiatry. Never to gen surg; rarely (if ever) to ortho.