Giving up hope--need some encouragement / advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sylphina

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. The reason I'm posting is because I have a personal situation I would truly appreciate having some advice on. I am getting to the point where I have given up hope. :/

I had a very good application this year, and I was accepted to several places across the country. At the moment, I am holding an acceptance a Texas school (I am a Texas resident). Unfortunately, my fiancee is contracted to work for the next four years in Michigan. I was accepted to Wayne State University as an out-of-stater, but as you may know, the non-resident tuition at this school is astronomically expensive. I feel like I would have to be crazy to turn down a cheap Texas school for a school that is 60K/year.

Aside from Wayne, I was not accepted to any schools that are even remotely near my fiancee. :/ I am currently waitlisted at Case and the University of Pittsburgh, which are both within driving distance of him, at least. I have written both of these schools to let them know of my continued interest, but as of yet, I have no news from them. I feel as though I have no choice in this situation--I either have to give up the love of my life or give up medical school. I could reapply next year, but from what people have said, I would probably not be accepted anywhere if I gave up an acceptance this year. So in reality, I believe there is no way out of this situation. No matter what I do, I will have to sacrifice something important to me.

Is there something I haven't thought of? Is it possible, perhaps, to transfer to a school near him at a later point? Do you guys think I should inform these schools of the situation, or would that simply be giving them too much personal information? I would truly appreciate some advice.

Members don't see this ad.