GPA Damage Control

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BigBoi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wow! SDN is indeed therapeutic! (at least after several posts that mirror my situation) Anyway greetings to everyone, I'm a newbie to SDN and I look forward to having a great time and discovering a wealth of information as well.
So this is my situation: (Damn, I can't believe I'm doing this but here goes)
I'm 33, with four years of military service under my belt. I got out of the service in 'O3 and since been trying to school, with part-time to full time job all along. I did a year at a CC then transfered to a 4 yr University. At the CC, of all the courses I took (36cr in one year), I got B's and A's in all non science courses and C's in Biol 100 and Micro; oh yes and I got B in Gen Chem I then an F in Gen Chem II :mad:. After I transfered, I retook Gen Chem II, had to take a molecular bio-based Biol 100 and lab got a C's in them:mad:. I retook the Bio's and got B's:cool:. Then I took Ochem I 2x, C-B in lec but C in lab, Phys I, C, Genetics C with some W's in between, some semester withdrawals. My overall GPA is 2.69 (again still working full time, got mortgage, bills up my a:sleep::sleep:Damn! Now mind you I did great in HS sciences, I was a star on my school Quiz (or meet the challenge) team. I've experimented with several majors (all along working in health care-Nursing home/Assisted Living and now with Pysch patients:smuggrin:) and I'm resolved to finish up with Biology degree. I have up to 100+ credits with a 2.69 GPA:eek:
I'm really loving the whole flow of Psychiatry. What do I do:confused:

1. GPA Repair:
-I'm considering going back to retake ALL the courses that got C's in to bring them to at least A's. My rational here is that even if I get out with some degree, I'd have to go back and do the same damage control. I couldn't enter a MS program with such low GPA anyway.