Graduate GPA vs Undergrad GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jeff.jones

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've got a Masters in Mechanical Engineering, along with a BS in the same field. My graduate GPA is 3.96 while my undergrad GPA is 3.54.

I have a strong research background (conducted my own full research project which will contribute later to a larger published article). I have ~100 hours of physician shadowing and ~50 hours of veterinary community service. My work and experiences section of my application is also pretty impressive.

I'm a KY resident. MCAT = 33 (12 P, 12 B, 9 V)

My question is, will adcoms tend to look more closely at my graduate or undergraduate GPA?

Here's my school list:

Drexel
Eastern Virginia
Emory
George Washington
Indiana University
Loyola
Saint Louis University
Ohio State
University of Cincinnati
University of Illinois
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
University of North Carolina
University of Tennessee
Vanderbilt University
Virginia Commonwealth University
Wake Forest

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks for your response. Any suggestions as far as my school list, anyone?

Members don't see this ad :)
I wouldn't really recommend UNC or Vandy. Emory and Ohio State are real long shots as well. Tennessee with its 94% in state matriculants is also one I would avoid. Illinois is 80% in state but I honestly have no idea if they would still show some preference to those who are out of state but near by Illinois(I'm guessing no but I don't know the policies specific to Illinois).

More to Consider
Medical College Wisconsin
Penn State
West Virginia
Temple
Jefferson
Oakland
Quinnipac
Rush
Creighton(maybe)
Tufts(maybe)

Apply broadly and early to these type of schools, you'll have a realistic shot of getting an acceptance.

Reactions: 1 user