Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDApplicant3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am a current US medical student and got my step 1 scores a few weeks ago. I did much worse than I expected getting 227. Is that competitive for neurosurgery? Is there anything I can do to make up for it?

Members don't see this ad.

A 227 is not competitive, but people do match with that score. To make up for it, score higher on Step II, do research/make connections, and do well on rotations and your subIs. Also, when applying, be realistic about programs to which you apply. Feel free to PM me if you have any other questions etc.

Hi everyone. I am a current US medical student and got my step 1 scores a few weeks ago. I did much worse than I expected getting 227. Is that competitive for neurosurgery? Is there anything I can do to make up for it?

you have an 82% chance of matching based on your step 1 score alone according to the 2011 charting outcomes data. your step 1 score is about 10 points below the average for matched applicants, so 'not competitive' is a good description, but your odds of matching period are pretty good.

I would talk to your home program director, but my thoughts...

things to make up for your lower step one score...

1 great research-being a PhD or HHMI/Dorris Duke would help you out, if not that then a good publication record-consider taking a year off for research

2 stellar letters-look at your clinical grades third year, if you are doing very well then you are more likely to do very well on your neurosurgery sub-is and get better letters (if not then you need to figure out what to change asap)