How should I treat myself as an applicant? 4.0/30

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I Love Cats

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
By "How should I treat myself?", I mean I have no idea how to think of myself realistically so that I approach the next cycle appropriately. I already messed up last cycle by being verified at the end of september, waiting forever to send in secondaries and also only sending in 9 or 10 secondaries. I'm in the process of triaging my mistakes.

To reiterate from the title, I have a 4.0/30. Breakdown: 11 (BS), 11 (PS), 8 (VR). I have a high GPA as a dual degree science major, ~0.3 above the average acceptance GPA, but a 30 which is ~1 point below the average acceptance GPA. Both of those statements pertain to M.D. schools.

Last cycle I remember being very confused about what schools to apply to since my MCAT was below the median for most places I applied to (by about 1-2 points), but my GPA was well above the median by like ~0.3. I remember viewing things so narrowly scoped thinking just because my MCAT was a point or two lower that I shouldn't apply there, but in retrospect I feel I may not have given my GPA enough credit. I may have hurt myself by thinking my MCAT ruined me.

How should I view myself, stats-wise, with a combined 4.0/30? Average? Slightly above average? Below average?

Next, how do I choose my schools since many will have an average or median at or slightly above my MCAT? I have recently tried to justify schools by using LizzyM scores of schools compared to mine.