How To Best Maximize My Gap Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Don Jon

Reaction score
I am a recent graduate who plans to take a year off before I apply. I decided to take the year off because mentally I did not feel ready to apply as I had doubts on whether or not I wanted to pursue this path. However after taking some time off, I realized this is what I want to do and am committed to applying next year. My main question was what would be the best way to maximize my gap year. I have been applying to some clinical jobs, research jobs(ideally I’d volunteer at a clinic to get my hours up), and clinical research jobs, and would love to hear from others on what they did or recommend. I posted the gist of my current application below, and let me know if you have any more questions.

My situation:

GPA: 3.93(cumulative, and science is similiar) at a Top-30school

MCAT: 513

Volunteering: So I have a lot of hours doing Meals on Wheels weekly through my Local Hospital and Tutoring kids from low-income areas, and these activities I have done since my freshman year of school.

Clinical Experience: I have a 100 hours basically being an unpaid Medical Assistant at a Private Practice Clinic - I roomed patients, took their vitals, did EKGs, put on Holters, reminder phone calls, basically everything. That’s it for clinical experience. I think as far as quality it is as good as it gets, but I am not sure if this is enough.

Shadowing: I’ve shadowed three specialties now: Urology, Interventional Radiology, and Physical Med and Rehabilitation.