I also need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jikenyson

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a carribean student (Ross), I applied to EM and was fairly confident that I would get at least 10 interviews and match somewhere, so I didn't apply to prelim med as a backup. Now, I only had two interview offers and I think I will likely have to scramble into something. I dont want anything categorical besides EM and I think I may fare better next year if I apply earlier. I was wondering if anyone had advice about what to do, I have heard that prelim med and EM are nearly impossible to scramble into. Should I go for prelim surg? Is there any way I can get info to programs before the scramble? Is there anything else I could do for a year while I reapply? My Steps are both 99s my GPA is above 3.7 and I havent failed anything. Thank you in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Prelim surgery spot to work as a scut monkey wouldnt be the hardest thing in the world to get, try big programs in big cities. Think Miami, NYC, Houston etc....

That will suck, but I guess it may be my only option. Does anyone have a recommendation for prelim surg spot that traditionally doesn't fill at a place with EM residency?

Also if any MS3's read this and worry, there may be a lesson. I think in EM, moreso than other specialties, it is important to get your application in early.

Members don't see this ad :)
That will suck, but I guess it may be my only option. Does anyone have a recommendation for prelim surg spot that traditionally doesn't fill at a place with EM residency?

Also if any MS3's read this and worry, there may be a lesson. I think in EM, moreso than other specialties, it is important to get your application in early.