I got a B in Gen Chem 1, will it be a huge negative on my med school chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PrinceElvis97

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I am currently a Freshman studying at a community college in California. This is my first semester, and I currently am taking 16 units which include Calculus 1 and Gen Chem 1. Although the semester is not over yet I feel very confident( sadly) that although I will most likely get an A in calculus, I am going to end up with a B in Gen chem 1. This is really bringing me down right now because I am just scared that if already in Gen Chem I have a B, how can I possibly get A's in Gen Chem 2 and Organic chem and Bio Chem?

Also I want to know by getting a B in gen chem 1, how did I negatively affect my chances of getting into medicals school?

Thanks everyone

Members don't see this ad.

One B isn't going to have a big effect on your chances of getting into medical schools, but don't make a habit of it. What you need to do is evaluate why you got a B and figure out how to get A's consistently. You may need to study more, study harder, study smarter, go to TA office hours, go to professor office hours, or whatever else you can think of. If you find your grades slipping early on in the quarter/semester, it will be up to you to take the initiative to fix it in time to boost your grades. Of course, this B may just be a fluke, so don't worry about it too much.

I am just really sad to start my college "life", already with a B in Gen Chem. People say Organic Chem and Gen Chem 2 are alot harder for some, and I am honestly very worried and stressed out about this whole thing i am going through right now :(

Members don't see this ad :)