I have a year to kill. What do I learn?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theotherfiftyone

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends! I thought I'd finally stop lurking and make a thread to a) state my intentions to a bunch of strangers (because it's not official until strangers know, right?), and b) get my question answered.

Here's my story: I went to Columbia and took approximately two science courses in four years. In my sophomore year, my mother was diagnosed with non-Hodgkins lymphoma, which was an almost catastrophic blow to our family. My mother's ongoing health issues, her distance from me (I studied 3,000 miles away from home), a very bitter personal struggle with depression/anxiety/PTSD, a string of suicides in my community, and abysmal mental health care options at Columbia led to my graduating in 2014, just barely, with a GPA of 2.6. For a kid who graduated from a top private high school with a 3.8, that was a blow.

But I made it! I've taken the last year or so to move home, decompress, live/work in the real world, and achieve my life-long goal of getting a dog. I got a job in Amazon's legal department, signed my first lease, am paying bills, have a dog (and a cat!), found an exceptional life partner, and have a good therapist.

Turns out, though, that I hate corporate America and working with lawyers, and I've been exploring career options that don't include the legal profession.