I just want to go to Med School!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frenchmedicine

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Friends!

Here are my not so lustrous stats

3.2 / 30O. (Obtained a 26M the year before) About 600 hrs of shadowing a Doctor this summer at a Children's Camp.
I'm originally from France, studying honors chem in Montreal (McGill). I applied to the
"low tier" schools.

What are my chances?!

Members don't see this ad.

Well apart from the 600 Hrs with the Doc, not much.

Do schools look at applicants majors as a factor. For example, I could of easily taken all my pre-reqs (which I did very well) and taken an "easier" major, such as French for me. Some applicants never have to take 4th year chemistry classes than can be quite difficult. Also, there isn't a curve at Mcgill. I studied at University of Iowa for a year, left with a 3.66 GPA

Hello Friends!

3.2 / 30O. (Obtained a 26M the year before) About 600 hrs of shadowing a Doctor this summer at a Children's Camp.
I'm originally from France, studying honors chem in Montreal (McGill). I applied to the
"low tier" schools.

What are my chances?!

Canadian with a 3.2/30 has approximately 0 chance at a US MD school.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using SDN Mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
The fact that you went to McGill will help - I know that the highly competitive schools in the northeast see a decent number of McGill applicants and know that it is tough to get high grades compared to the big American schools. However, they won't cut you that much slack - just like engineering students, you'll still be expected to have the numbers at the top tier research schools. I don't know how well the smaller schools that you've applied to will know McGill. Maybe you could point out that 3.2 is still a respectable GPA coming from a school like McGill.

http://www.mcgill.ca/law-studies/information/grades