IMG applicant Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

realdeal1988

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

First, a big thanks to everyone contributing here to help us medical students, i hope i knew about this website earlier.
Anyway, I just need your opinion on my case. I am currently a med III student from American university of Beirut. Our university is well known in the region as most of its students match in the USA. In addition, the fact that most of its current attending are board certified speaks highly of it.

Nevertheless, lately I have been hearing news about the "near impossible" ENT residency for an IMG. I had very high hopes and ambition and is currently working hard on my step 1 as well as a research paper where I am the first author. But with all honesty, hearing all those discouraging news about ENT residency for an IMG got me questioning what to do.
That is bearing in mind that after 2015, IMG chances slope downwards as officials from the US reported in lectures held at our medical school.

I am going for an elective in USC. And I am willing to work a lot as this will help in getting very good LOR as well as boost my ability to match in USC.

I would appreciate an honest opinion about my chances and what you think is best to do in the remaining last medical school year I have left.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.