Internship vs Job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pets2vets

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a freshman undergrad that has been offered two great opportunities for the summer after my freshman year. I am obviously pre-vet (posting on this forum) and have not been exposed to veterinary medicine before.
One is an opportunity to work as a kennel assistant at a vet hospital. The other is an unpaid animal care internship at a wildlife rehabilitation hospital. For the internship, I would get hands on animal experience with baby mammals, clean out cages etc. What would you guys recommend for a good first vet experience: kennel assistant (paid) or wildlife animal care internship (unpaid)?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would take the paid position because moneys. Seriously though, both sound like good opportunities. There's no way you can do both? If I had to pick one I'd definitely go with the paid position since those are usually harder to get and you can usually find plenty of places to volunteer at during the rest of the year (from my experience, anyway).

Reactions: 1 user
I would take the kennel assistant position unless you have an interest in wildlife.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ditto. Do you have a major interest in wildlife or small animals?

The kennel assistant is paid, you'll be working with DVMs (and you'll need their letters of rec to apply) and you can possibly work your way up to be a regular assistant which will give you even more experience.

The wildlife job sounds cool, but money is good and if you're intending to be SA it's a smart move to get some experience hours under your belt. Perhaps you can do the wildlife thing occasionally as a volunteer and not necessarily an intern?