Is 40 too old?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Peter76

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I used to roam these forums many, many years ago when I was an undergrad. Never quite got my ducks in a row and committed to medicine, and it's always been at the back of my mind for the past couple of decades.

Now, at 40, I find myself in a situation where I have the opportunity to reset my life. I'd go the post-bacc route, adding a couple of years. Medical school entry when I'm 43? Graduate at 47. Residency done by the time I'm in my early 50s.

I'd be doing this without taking on debt, so that's not an issue for me. My main concerns are:

- Med schools just not being interested in someone my age. It's a very old age to be switching careers, and the return on the investment in any sense other than "Well, I guess I followed my dreams" is probably going to be negative.
- Physically too old? It's not an easy route - lots of late nights, hard work, huge amounts of stress. Not sure how my body would cope.
- I'd be a complete misfit. Like, ridiculously out of place.

Given the opportunity to completely switch directions in life, I'm looking at all my options. Sure, the burning desire for a career in medicine isn't as fiery as it used to be, but it's still there. I'm just in the early stages of trying to figure out whether medicine is a realistic option, or whether it's a door that has forever closed at this point.

So...the question is: does anybody go to medical school at such an advanced age?

Members don't see this ad.

Uh, I hope so :)

Obviously that's a reference to my own age, but I can tell you there are definitely people who have done it, even into their 50s.

Some of my all time best students have been in their 30s and 40s. I just graduated one at 50.

Our oldest ever was 53. He's in practice now.