Is investing ~400,000 dollars really worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zammyd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
The time is coming up for acceptances and the one thing that still is scaring me the most is the cost of attendance. Putting down 400,000 dollars (after interest fees) is not a joke and is really worrying me. I do think I can manage to pay it, but what worries me is if paying that much for school is worth it. Suppose I make around 100k-200k after school, it still would take me between 5- 10 years to pay it off. Do I want to live in debt for that long? ...What if I break my hands in dental school? What if I get into a debilitating accident? I'd basically lose my investment and my career as a dentist would be over. I know I might be thinking too far out but can anyone give me some input that would make this decision a little easier?

* I should also mention I am an international student, so I'm limited in terms of military and scholarship options

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Find the NPV/IRR/Incremental IRR and I think you have your problem solved.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
There are ways to manage your debt. Different repayment plans, military, public service, etc. See here for payment plans: https://studentloans.gov/myDirectLoan/mobile/repayment/repaymentEstimator.action Graduated payment (based on income or whichever) that you attack once you have a decent income seems to be a decent option. You don't have to jump into a standard plan as soon as you graduate.

But yes, you need to be smart about the debt.

There's also disability insurance. While in school and after. Pretty sure ASDA even has free disability insurance.

I think there are some other considerations that you need into account also: