Is it over for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eliot Reinhart

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am currently a sophomore majoring in psychology at a top 20 UG with a 2.98 GPA.

I have been thinking of getting an MD for a while and applying to med schools, but because of my mediocre GPA I am really starting to lose confidence (with good reason)
I took Gen Chem I and Bio I in my freshman year fall sem and got Cs on both. I took Physics I last sem (sophomore fall) and got a C- which can pretty much explain why I have such a low GPA. Right now I am taking Bio II and Gen Chem II and prob going to get an A-/B+ for Bio and B-/C+ for Chem.

I've heard that as long as you show mastery of upper level science courses like Orgo, Human Phys., Biochem, your GPA makes it to about 3.5-3.6 AND you get a superb MCAT score (which I would guess is 36 or above) you have a chance at top-20 tier med schools. Is this true?

I have also been considering of retaking the core req i have done horrible in. Any suggestions?

The way I am looking at myself in this whole med school preparation process is that I have no problems in the extracurricular area, but I can't say the same for my GPA.

Do I still have any chance at top tier schools or am I doomed?

Members don't see this ad.