This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ch3cooh

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, so currently I am a fall semester sophomore at Rutgers , I am a CBN ( Bio major with a focus in cellular bio and neuroscience), my first semester in college I failed Calc, and then the next semester I retook it replacing my grade. I wanted to know is it worth transferring to a school like UCF or FSU where they would take my GPA from rutgers not directly as rutgers has it with the grade replacement but rather with an F and the C+ i got after? My reason for wanting to transfer is I believe Rutgers has an extremely difficult course load and a lot more weed out classes then the other schools. My first year GPA was a 2.7 and this semester I am going to end with a 3.7 which would bring my overall GPA to around 3.2-3.3 I believe. But my transfer transcript that they would take would have a 2.56 (due to the F). What I want to know is:
-Are FSU and UCF on a level with Rutgers when sending out my applications for med school
- I know I can do a lot better at those schools after seeing exams from each for the same classes I am taking now, which are so much easier.
-Is it worth having the 2.5 transfer out of rutgers GPA?
-When I go to send out my applications how would this look? any different then if I would have just 1 transcript all from rutgers , but still with an F in it not being factored towards my GPA

Members don't see this ad.

I'd suggest staying. Seeing your GPA from this semester, you definitely seem to have adjusted to Rutgers and am doing well now. You don't know how a transfer could affect you as its a completely new environment.

Members don't see this ad :)