Letters of Rec

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dre42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a post bac currently working as a research coordinator at a local med school and I am planning to apply to clinical doctorate programs in psychology next year. I'm currently studying for my GRE's, working on a first author publication with my PI, and volunteering for a 988 crisis line.

Most of the 13 programs I have chosen to apply to have a three rec letter requirement. However, the team I work with is rather small (it's just me, my PI and one other study coordinator) so I've been stumped about where to get the other two letters from.

My department has a few other professors, but I never see them since they all have their own teams and offices, and most of them work from home. I'm considering sending a couple of awkward emails to them explaining my situation to see if maybe some of them would be willing to help me out. I would love to actually work with them and get to know them so when the time comes, they can speak about me on a deeper, personal level.

Anyway, I would appreciate if anyone has any advice, relatable personal experience, or any ideas on how to get the other two letters. Many thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

A few thoughts:
- Did you write an undergraduate thesis? If so, your thesis advisor should write one...
- Your post-bacc mentor should definitely write one...
- Consider asking another professor from undergrad who knows you well?