M.D. Chances cGPA=3.96 sGPA=3.95 MCAT 28

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zmayo56

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if anybody has suggestions on schools I should apply to. I am retaking my MCAT August 16th as I scored under my avg. the first time (11 6 11). In one of my LOR my professor talked about my great critical thinking skills, which will hopefully help me with such a horrific VR score.

-I am a first generation college student
-Caucasian

I have:
400 hrs research
100 hrs shadowing including 30 hrs watching surgery
100 hrs medical volunteering
250 hrs non-medical volunteering
Semester Study Abroad (taught Italian children English)
150 hrs as Organic Chem TA

Solid LOR
Vice President of a health club

My Schools so far:
Iowa
Nebraska
Creighton
Rush
Arizona Tuscon
Arizona Phoenix

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, that 6 will screen you out at almost every MD school. No LOR will ever substitute for or help you with your MCAT, no matter how good the letter is. You'll need to get at least an 8 on your VR the 2nd time around to be considered for MD schools. If you do get a 30 (your other 2 subset scores remain the same), then you chances will be a whole lot better. You should add more mid to lower tier schools, such as MCW, Loyola, and E Virginia. You may want to start applying to DO schools, too, since your next MCAT won't come back until mid September, which will make your app somewhat late for MD standards.

So I just got my retake score back and I am SO disappointed. I scored an 11 8 10 for a total of 29. I don't know why I did so poorly as I felt decent about this exam. There is not much that I can do now though. Do I stand a chance anywhere or should I just call it a cycle? Should I apply to any other MD schools such as MCW?

Also, would people recommend me submitting an AACOMAS or do people think it is too late for this also?