making mistakes in the lab

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hardwoodlampshade

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
do other people working in research labs (i.e. basic research on a bench) make mistakes in experiments? i find myself making TONS of mistakes. like everyday i forget to add something to a solution, or forget to heat something, etc etc. i find it so hard to manage doing complex experiments without messing up. how do i stop making so many mistakes in lab? i did fine in lab classes in college (a top 10 university). i majored in biochem.

i just don't understand why i make so many careless mistakes. help

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Do you have your protocol printed/written out in front of you?
If yes, are you checking things off as you go?
If no, why not?

Members don't see this ad :)
my pi says linear bullet point protocols are bad practice because they hinder your ability to think scientifically, so generally don't use them.

Lab = where you'll have more failures than you ever thought possible.

My wise ol' grad student greeted me with this many many moons ago. Truer words were never spoken.

Reactions: 3 users
If you're not making mistakes, you're not doing good science.

Reactions: 1 users
Yeah pretty much echo just about everyone here. I know I made a ****s ton of mistakes in lab. I had the same exact worries as you.

Everyone screws up. The people who don't either have done the procedures so many freaking times, (but they still mess up, so I guess their not included), or they're simply not doing anything at all.