DO MCAT 33, GPA 3.82, applied to DO schools only without any DO experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

applydon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took MCAT three times, and my scores are as follows:
08/2012: 5VR+12PS+9BS=26,
07/2013: 6VR+12PS+11BS=29,
11/2014: 7VR+14PS+12BS=33.
I studied at an oversea college for 3 years, and according to AACOMAS, my GPA is 2.80. I then transferred to a college in New York State, my GPA is 3.82. I got a scholarship in my senior year. I am a permanent resident immigrated from East Asia. My ECs are as follows:
1) 416 hours research experience in a cancer institute
2) 148 volunteer experience in a VA hospital
3) 1 year lab assistant work experience in a microbiologist's lab (work-study program)
4) 30 hours shadowing experience with MDs
5) 160 hours antibiotics production internship
6) 200 hours organic plant internship
7) I was working in a small restaurant as a waiter and manager from 08/2013 to 08/2014.

I didn't finish the whole application process until 11/10/2014, because I have to prepare to re-take MCAT on 11/7/2014. English is not my first language. Because I didn't have any DO LORs, I only applied to NYIT-COM, PCOM, and UNECOM this year. I noticed that those DO schools hope applicants can score 8 or better on VR. Last year (2013-2014 application cycle), I didn't finish the whole application process until 1/15/2014, however, I got a II from NYIT-COM and then I was waitlisted and rejected. I didn't think the 2.8 oversea GPA would be a problem, because last year, my NYIT-COM interviewer didn't ask me any questions on my oversea GPA. I have re-taken all of the pre-requisite courses in US, like generally chemistry, organic chemistry, physics, and math. I got all As on those courses.