Medical experience with humans, but not animals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheHumanElement

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

So I always wanted to be a DVM, unfortunately life got in the way as it often does and I found myself in a situation where 8+ years of medical training just wasn't possible with my situation at the time.

Instead I became a Respiratory Therapist and I've been working full time for about 7 years now. I've finally arrived at a place however where trying for veterinary school is actually a possibility. I could feasibly get my Bachelors at UC Davis and then apply for vet school. The only issue I'm having with this is attaining experience/hours in animal practice.

As it stands I have 7 years of experience in just about everything. I currently work at UC Davis Medical Center, and I've worked in ICU's, the OR, Acute Care, Case Management and Rehabilitation, and the ED which is a very large Level-I Trauma Center. I've had exposure to patients in basically every specialty from Trauma/Burn/Neuro/Cardiothoracic Surgery to Pulm/Endo/Cardiac/EverythingElse Medicine.

But like I said before, I lack any animal experience. My partner is actually an RVT so I'm maybe a bit more familiar than a layman, but that's about it.

So I'm left wondering, would my current medical experience make up at all for a lack of work experience with animals? How do admissions boards look towards candidates with a decent amount of human medical experience (either positive or negative)? And if I did have to get some experience, between working full time and school full time, about the best I could probably do would be unpaid volunteer work at a clinic, would that at all be considered adequate to be a competitive candidate?

Members don't see this ad.