Medical Job!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alexandrajolie

Jolie Smith
Reaction score
Hi!

I am a sophomore and am pre-medicine, hoping to go DO. I know that shadow and volunteer hours are desired; however, I got a job interview for a patient registrar in a hospitals emergency department and figured that I could knock out those hours while also doing something I enjoy and getting paid to do so. My only concern is that this will be overlooked since it is not really "volunteering" my time, and I am getting an income. Does having a job in the medical field prior to applying to medical school help your chances, and maybe void off the shadow/volunteer hours?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!

I am a sophomore and am pre-medicine, hoping to go DO. I know that shadow and volunteer hours are desired; however, I got a job interview for a patient registrar in a hospitals emergency department and figured that I could knock out those hours while also doing something I enjoy and getting paid to do so. My only concern is that this will be overlooked since it is not really "volunteering" my time, and I am getting an income. Does having a job in the medical field prior to applying to medical school help your chances, and maybe void off the shadow/volunteer hours?

Paid positions are nice. Shows responsibility and professionalism. It’ll will knock out clinical hours, but only if you interact with patients in a clinical setting. Unfortunately medical receptionists do not really count. if you get to work along side with nurses and physicians this would definitely be worthwhile activity.

And no you need volunteering to show altruism and your commitment to the people to you will serving. You should be acquiring both clinical and non clinical hours. Paid clinical activities is a plus!