MS policy: students not permitted to work

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Oniononorion

Reaction score
Hello all,

(I searched and was surprised to not be able to find anything on this so here goes)

I am a medical laboratory scientist (blood banker) of 6 years and will soon be applying to med school. The school’s policy is that nobody is permitted to work. My question is, what does this even mean?

I have never read or heard of anyone getting kicked out of med school for simply working a couple shifts a month if their grades are still excellent. Of course if I felt that I was struggling, I would have to pass on picking up shifts.

No doubt all schools treat this differently, but does anyone have any experience with the consequences of this type of policy? I couldn’t imagine they would skew their stats for the worse by kicking someone out for a couple shifts per month when they are performing excellently (if I am not performing excellently I won’t be working because my main goal is to be a knowledgeable physician).

I’m not asking the school because frankly I don’t want to give the impression that my focus is anywhere but succeeding in school (which is true).

TIA

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

(I searched and was surprised to not be able to find anything on this so here goes)

I am a medical laboratory scientist (blood banker) of 6 years and will soon be applying to med school. The school’s policy is that nobody is permitted to work. My question is, what does this even mean?

I have never read or heard of anyone getting kicked out of med school for simply working a couple shifts a month if their grades are still excellent. Of course if I felt that I was struggling, I would have to pass on picking up shifts.