New BDUs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rad-doc

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I own the traditional BDUs and was wondering if the airforce has made the switch to the new BDU style...if so , has anyone heard if HPSP students would need to purchase these prior to our summer externships?

Members don't see this ad.

I am not a medical type at this point, but as an Army officer I am pretty sure the new BDUs are Army-only for now.

rad-doc said:
I own the traditional BDUs and was wondering if the airforce has made the switch to the new BDU style...if so , has anyone heard if HPSP students would need to purchase these prior to our summer externships?

Same old USAF BDUs. I wear them everyday.

Members don't see this ad :)
I believe the OP was referring to the new AF-specific utility uniform, which can be viewed at the following link:

http://www.af.mil/news/story.asp?storyID=123010638

Originally it was blue tigerstripe, but has changed to a subdued tan/green/whatever.

Here is the original http://www.af.mil/news/story_media.asp?storyID=123005370

Of course, the Navy is also doing the same kinda thing.
http://usmilitary.about.com/od/navy/a/newuniforms.htm
http://www.military.com/NewsContent/0,13319,FL_navy_101804,00.html

I still think the ACU is the best.

JA_Perez said:
And Marines...

Just FYI, the new Army ACU and Marine's MARPAT are slightly different. While both are pixelated, the Army decided to eliminate the black seen in the USMC version. Reason: black is not normally found in outside environments where a soldier might wish to hide, and actually calls attention to the wearer.

Same thing with the black in the current BDUs.

Seeing pictures of Army and USMC troops patrolling in Iraq, and noticing this one distinct difference, I think the Army is correct.

HooahDOc said: