MD Non-Trad Low GPA/High MCAT Hispanic- School List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorbob23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, Im trying to figure out which schools to apply to and theres SO MANY. Its getting to be a lot harder than I thought and I could really use some help from those with a little more experience. I just want to pick the schools that statistically I have the best chances for an interview/acceptance in my situation. I have a lot of medical experience (nursing icu 2 years).

I screwed up my freshman year but I have a 4.0 for 3 years in all my classes and pre-reqs (reinvention story).

Im hispanic and I was born in cuba. I speak fluent english and spanish.

Stats:

Cumulative GPA : 3.35

Science GPA: 3.40

MCAT: 514 (92%)

Year in school: Senior

Race: Hispanic/Cuban

Country/state of residence: FL (no surprise)

Schools to which you are applying:
  1. All FL state schools
  2. UM
  3. Tulane
  4. Loyola
  5. Thomas Jefferson
  6. Albany
  7. NYMC
  8. Howard
  9. EVMS
  10. Vanderbilt
  11. Wake Forest
  12. Quinnipiac
  13. Temple
  14. Commonwealth
  15. Virginia Commonwealth
  16. Drexel
  17. RF
  18. SUNY Downstate
  19. Tufts
  20. Georgetown
  21. Pennstate
  22. Meharry
  23. Wayne State
  24. Virginia Tech
  25. Wright State

Research: 1 semester of research, no publications

Work (medical) – 2 years nursing icu and ER experience
Volunteer (medical)- 3 months assisted living home health
6 months ER volunteer

Physician shadowing –
100 hrs-internal medicine
60 hours- Emergency Medicine

Non-clinical volunteering

-Playing guitar at nursing home for 6 months
-Biology tutor (integrated with the course)- 2 years

Employment history:

8 years worth of work experience, waiting tables, cashier

Immediate family members in medicine? No

Any insight into medical schools that would fit my situation? Thank you

Members don't see this ad.