MD Nontrad thinking of reapplying, looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monkeyjack

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the title says, I'm thinking of reapplying and would love some advice on where to apply. I initially applied two years(cycles) ago, and but it was a disaster. But I've grown since that experience and I think I've identified some of the mistakes that I think killed me.

I graduated from college and enrolled in a post-bacc program in order to raise my GPA. I did well, but I made the mistake of applying with only two quarters on the transcript. I wasn't sure how my grades were going to be for the third quarter, and I didn't want to delay sending in the my transcript until the end of June. Big mistake, I got a 4.0 :(. I sent in an updated transcript to individual schools, but I don't think that they looked at it. As a weak candidate GPA wise, this hurt me, as my BCMP GPA would have been above 3.5 with these grades.

Second mistake was that I waited submitting my application until the middle of june, about two weeks after AMCAS opened. I wasn't happy with my personal statement so I took time to work on it. I know now I should submit on the first day.

I applied to too many schools, most of which were not a good fit and out of my reach. I was also a CA resident and an Asian male, so that did not help at all.

I had one interview, but I was waitlisted.

No getting in was devastating, but I had a lot of personal problems as well, which caused me to hit rock bottom. Since then, I took some time off and traveled. Honestly one of the greatest experiences of my life. I also got a job in healthcare IT job in Wisconsin, so no longer a CA resident :)

Anyways here are my stats

GPA:

Total: 3.46
BCMP: 3.52
Postbac:3.9
MCAT: 32 (V:9, P:12, B:11)

Research:

Two labs, 4 years total, two papers(One first author), two poster presentations

ECs: