NRMP waiver and possible violation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doktor_Merkwürdigliebe

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am a prelim resident in IM. During the last match I got a categorical position in another IM program.
After the match an issue came up with the ECFMG: I am on a J1 and the ECFMG would not allow me to repeat PGY1, unless my PD (the new one or the old one, nobody knows) would provide a reason for it.
During my prelim year I met several time with my current PD and discussed my strategy to continue my residency path. This circumstance was never mentioned and my approach of looking for a categorical was deemed appropriate. I made a terrible mistake in forgetting about this statement the ECFMG had me sign during the onboarding process last year, I have no idea how it happened and I beg you not linger on this.

At the beginning of May, while onboarding for the new program, I randomly found again that signed statement while browsing my ECFMG J1 sponsorship website and immediately forwarded it to the TPL and the PC of the new program. They tried a way around it, but it didn't work.
My current program GME office told them that this happens all the time in surgery (where repeating PGY1 - also on a J1 visa - is common) and this form would have been needed. The PD of the new program, apparently forced by his GME office, said that was not an option (funding issue? not sure).
I still believe that could have been an easy solution, especially considering how this year of residency has been for everybody due to Covid.

And here we are to the NRMP waiver.
The statement made by the new PD it's fair and objective. It doesn't even blame me too much, it just reports that I signed that document and that unfortunately because of that the ECFMG will not sponsor my J1 to repeat PGY1.