Obamacare's effect on EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Insulinshock

Class of 2022
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone- Haven't posted here since pre-medical (3 years ago, wow!), but I just wanted to drop in and ask a question that I couldn't really find many good answers to through google searches. I apologize if it's been asked before.

I'm in my 3rd year, and just like almost every other 3rd year I'm trying to narrow down my specialty choice. EM has always been on the top of my list, and still is. I was curious, however, what the effect of the upcoming healthcare legislation is going to have on the specialty? I talked with my state's EM medical group representative, and she said "we came out about even," but I couldn't really get her to expand on what she meant.

Specifically, how do you think the practice will change, the autonomy, the working conditions, salary, patient load, etc.?

Thanks, cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone- Haven't posted here since pre-medical (3 years ago, wow!), but I just wanted to drop in and ask a question that I couldn't really find many good answers to through google searches. I apologize if it's been asked before.

I'm in my 3rd year, and just like almost every other 3rd year I'm trying to narrow down my specialty choice. EM has always been on the top of my list, and still is. I was curious, however, what the effect of the upcoming healthcare legislation is going to have on the specialty? I talked with my state's EM medical group representative, and she said "we came out about even," but I couldn't really get her to expand on what she meant.

Specifically, how do you think the practice will change, the autonomy, the working conditions, salary, patient load, etc.?

Thanks, cheers!

Regulation up, autonomy slightly down, pay about the same, patient load up, work conditions group/CMG/coworker dependent.