Online Organic Chem II?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

filmtomd

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a non-trad student and did a "career-changer" post-bac to take my pre-medical requisites and during that year I opted to take Biochem over Ochem II. I'm applying next cycle and decided I want to take Ochem II. Anyone have any thoughts regarding taking Ochem II online? I've made my school list and looked at MSAR and pretty much all the schools on that list say they accept online Ochem II. Should I be in the clear then? I don't want to raise any red flags to admissions but I'm working full-time to support myself and it's really the only way I can take Ochem II at this point.

Additionally, I was considering online Ochem II at UCSD extension or University of New England Online. If anyone has any insight or experience to these programs i'd be really interested to hear what you think! Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Genuine question here - what looks better to an admissions committee... a 19 year old kid who went to Ochem II in person at their name brand college campus where the chem profs have a well know history of having super tough courses and the kid makes a B. Or, non trad online applicant makes an A in their Ochem II class while attending Online From the Comfort of your own Bed University? Not trying to be a smart*** seriously curious. If it was on the adcom, in the meeting, all things equal and these two folk's apps were more or less the same - I would have to give the 19 y/o kid the nod.