path sub-internships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hematogone

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year med student with some up-coming path sub-i's in surg path and hemepath.

I have been told there isn't a really standard way to prepare for these and to basically show up eager and willing to learn. So far I've done a 3rd year selective rotation in path where I got to spend time with attendings in surg path, hemepath, cytopath, and some others going through cases. I did get to observe the grossing and frozens, but never actually did them myself.

Is there any really good way to prepare for these? Would it be fine to just learn on the job - with regard to grossing, frozens, and spending time at the scope? I've firmly been told to not do anything beforehand and just show up with a positive attitude and happy to learn. But the OCD side of me wonders if at the very least maybe I should brush up with Robbins, or maybe even get a grossing manual plus a Rosai's. Or something else to that effect..

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 4th year med student with some up-coming path sub-i's in surg path and hemepath.

I have been told there isn't a really standard way to prepare for these and to basically show up eager and willing to learn. So far I've done a 3rd year selective rotation in path where I got to spend time with attendings in surg path, hemepath, cytopath, and some others going through cases. I did get to observe the grossing and frozens, but never actually did them myself.